Team USA named for 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS , Colo. – U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced its roster of 24 athletes today, including two tandem pilots, who will represent Team USA at the 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland, from July 28-Aug. 2.

Team USA was victorious at the 2014 edition of the championships as the American’s topped the medal count with 18 medals (nine gold, six silver and three bronze). Every medal winner from the 2014 championships will return to defend their podium positions.

“Our team for the world championships has a perfect combination of experienced veterans and fresh faces,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director U.S. Paralympics cycling. “All of these athletes are eager to represent Team USA and ascend the podium."

The U.S. roster boasts seven reigning world champions, including Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colorado) and Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, California) who swept the C2 and C3 events, respectively.

Other reigning champions include: Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Washington) C2 time trial, Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon) H2 time trial, Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont) H3 road race, Megan Fisher (Missoula, Montana) C4 time trial and Shawn Morelli (Leavenworth, Kansas) C4 road race.

The U.S. team also features 11 athletes who finished just shy of the podium with fourth place finishes at the 2014 championships.

Eight of the U.S. athletes have also represented their country in the military. Four athletes are from the Navy, three are from the Army and one from the Marine Corps.

U.S. Roster f

Aaron ScheidiesComment