USAT Announces Athletes of the Year for 2013


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — USA Triathlon today recognized the 2013 Elite Triathletes of the Year, highlighted by Gwen Jorgensen’s historic win at the Omegawave World Triathlon San Diego and other U.S. podium finishes.

Elite competitors nominated eligible athletes with the award selection being made by the USA Triathlon Athlete Advisory Council (AAC).

“Every year seems to provide such deserving candidates and 2013 was no exception. From our rookies all the way to our ITU superstars, there were so many amazing performances, and picking the winners from our incredible list of nominees was a difficult task,” said Barrett Brandon, chair of the USA Triathlon Athlete Advisory Council. “After we carefully examined the results of each nominee, we came up with this list of truly great and deserving athlete winners. The AAC would like to congratulate all of them on such a successful 2013 season.”

For the first time in 2013, Paratriathletes of the Year were selected by the AAC, with top honors going to Megan Fisher (TRI-5, Seattle, Wash.) and Aaron Scheidies (TRI-6b, Seattle, Wash.). Fisher won her third ITU Paratriathlon Worlds title in September, having also earned wins in the TRI-5 division at USA Paratriathlon Nationals and the Challenged Athletes Foundation (CAF) World Paratriathlon San Diego. Scheidies was the top finisher in the TRI-6b division at USA Paratriathlon Nationals and CAF World Paratriathlon San Diego, and he earned a silver medal at ITU Paratriathlon Worlds. SEE FULL PRESS RELEASE


Aaron ScheidiesComment